Summer is on its way!

A post from one of our guests from New Zealand.

Rebecca is currently staying at Les Mortiers, a keen runner and cyclist she enjoys exploring the country roads and forest tracks around Les Mortiers.

Summer is on its way!

There is a definite feeling of summer in the air at Les Mortiers – forget spring – my heart belongs to summer! The last three days have been full of brilliant sunshine, and amazing sunrises and sunsets. Sunday afternoon saw us indulging in cider from Normandy outside in the late evening sun, Monday saw me dozing outside the gite in the warm sunshine, and Tuesday saw me running in a singlet!

Cider and Sunshine - a perfect combination

The last few mornings I have awoken with that special feeling of anticipation that only a summer morning can bring. The birds have been much more vocal. The daffodils and crocus are out, bringing cheerful  bursts of colour to the brown ground of winter. The evening light is definitely lasting a good hour longer now than when I arrived three weeks ago.

My favourite thing in all the world is feeling the sun on my skin…so I’m making sure I get all I can in case winter decides to make a cruel return!

Crocus the colour of warm sunshine

Leave a Reply

